This is what it was all about.

Kiss to all those who missed me. Kick to all those who did not. -Sri Sri Sri Kamaal R Khan

In all this time that I haven’t blogged, I completed Masters degree and moved to India. The trip to India was so eventful and stressful- you are sure to find a few grey hair here and there in my otherwise black head if you look. I have recounted the story many times to many people, sometimes even in Hindi. Otherwise, life has been amazing. I turned 24 last month.. and no quarter-life crises yet! I am learning to drive a car to get a license, learning French (bon jour! j’aime la nourriture!), designing a sari, making excuses to skip exercising, drinking filter coffee by the liter, and pinterest-ing furiously. I even gave myself a (shabby) French manicure. I am considering joining a “laughing class” next. 

OMGzzz Happy New year, comrades. I cannot simply blog and not blog about the interesting people I have met. I was in a queue at the Passport office today to straighten out a few things in my passport. There was a lady behind me who tapped my shoulder and asked something. By the time I could reply, her 4(?) y.o made way for his hands in between my legs and started to cavort. I am not sure if my bright blue colored tights was too attracting for him, like the Khap panchayat would say. Then comes my driving instructor. He is a young chap in his early twenties, who is really good at what he does. On the first day, he was teaching me the anatomy of a car. “You put your foot either on the brake or the accelerator. Do not put like this.” and proceeds to take his leg and put it horizontally on both, brake and accelerator. All that raw talent. I was stifling hard giggles as Seenu continued his dos and don’ts. I doubt he has a driver’s license. Then there’s my 7y.o nephew who has incense sticks for friends. Stuff  Manu Joseph novels are made of. Tailor, who will call me at 10:30 in the night to ask a doubt in the blouse design. And he knows and speaks only in Hindi. Full comedy.

Being at home means that I have an almost regulated sleep pattern now. No matter what time I go to sleep, I am up by 7:30am because of pigeons and their incessant mating noises. I hate pigeons. I HATE them. I don’t even hate cockroaches and lizards, but these creatures must be banned and become extinct. All this mental torture has led to soft nightmares these days. Featuring Iyengar aunties who always smell of butter/ghee/oil, and accidents where I am always the savior of 100 people, and take it easy at the lost  limb or arm like I have only lost ten rupees; to give you a sample.

I am getting married in two months! It hasn’t sunk in yet, I don’t think it will even two months after the wedding. People must realize it’s unpleasant to ask “so are you feeling jittery?” “how can you get married so early?” “oh my god, your life!” on a regular basis. I do not have jitters. I have exciters, if there is such a thing. I cannot wait to be married. And this is what I tell them, who look at me like a crazy puppy. And others who gush about how much I am in love. The latter almost cancels all of the former. 

Please send your blessings, 101 Rs containing envelopes, wall clocks and Ganesha statues my way, dears.

12 thoughts on “This is what it was all about.

  1. Hahaha…KRK devotee?
    You are hilarious. I should never read you when at work. If I get fired for being that-crazy-laughs-a-lot-girl-when-staring-at-her-laptop, I’ll start sending my bills to you.
    Congratulations for your wedding :)

  2. Ooh, so excite your life is :D

    Moved back to India and then going to France? What an exciting life you lead man.. full jealousy!

    Besides, you aren’t marrying early.. .. says the woman who got married at 23

    1. Dee, no france trance and all. learning for the fun of it.
      thank you for the reassurance Dee, hehe! i will be putting one visit soon with vivaha patrike. pls keep doors open and egg (no chicken until wedding it seems) curries ready.

  3. Subbu, you are marrying at the right time, says the woman who married at 24 herself. You know how excite my life is right from my blog posts? huh? Huh?
    Also, do not miss out on table lamps shaped like ships, and carousels, and flowerpots, and hope that they work. Mostly in bright golden color. You want?
    Congrats ma! Budday picture on FB was full on mush and aw. :D

  4. Congrats and best wishes for the wedding and the life after that. Weddings can be stressful, or so I have heard. Take care of those greys. :P

  5. Subbu! How I missed you! Kiss back to you…
    Congrats on the upcoming wedding :) I will look out for those settling in posts
    And Congrats on the MS completion. i read your blod last when you were ready to leave for the US :P

Leave a comment