Subbu no longer a NRI.

The other day, a woman came to meet father-in-law who was not home at the time. She told me that she knew him very very well, asked me for his phone number and generally maintained an air of pride as well as conceal about the whole thing; that I had to think she had come to discuss some pressing matters of national security. She asked some inconsequential questions about me, left and came back that evening. She started off with questions about my brother-in-law who is studying medicine- which year he is in, how does he study, what is his percentage etc.- and told us that her daughter was also studying medicine. I could see what was coming at us. “When are you planning to get him married?” Instead, I did not expect what came next. “My daughter studies very well! She is supposed to be in the fourth year, but she failed by a mark. One mark. We tried doing everything in our capacity to get that mark, but obviously that hasn’t worked. That is why I want to speak to anna (yes of course all Indians are our brothers) about this matter. Very urgent. Very important.”
FIL is quite a notable person in the town, and there’s atleast five people coming home every week requesting help. Not all stories inspire my interest, but I shall duly note them down for the blog henceforth; dear readers. How much I have missed meeting new, interesting people like the above-mentioned auntie.

The western world believes in sugar coating everything with sweetie-s and excuse me-s but I love how everyone has an opinion about everything here- not being sarcastic. I suppose being away from India for three years does that to you? The first month after we came back, everyone was telling me how thin husband and I had become. While I was feeling happy about it, they came back and told me that I had become fat and if I don’t maintain my body now only what will I do after child-birth? Which brings us to the next favorite- children. “Are you pregnant? No? So sad. God bless you with a baby boy.” “Your parents are getting old. Have children soon.” “Do not have children now. What’s the hurry?” 
Thankful to God, none of these are from either of our parents and everyone else do not matter anyway. Funny how talking about sex is taboo, but asking for children is totally acceptable; because hello please respect Indian culture or get out of the country. This would have exasperated me around a year ago, but not anymore. I have stopped arguing or reacting to bullshit, I am in a calm place now and so totally meditative on my own actions. Is this what marriage does to people?

We moved to India for good in October. We had decided earlier that we’d move late 2015, but both of us (mostly me) were unhappy being away from home so that spurred everything and here we are! We found a house, started work, attended many ceremonies that involved wearing saree (i love!), and are now blogging about it as well. So glad to be back home.

3 thoughts on “Subbu no longer a NRI.

Leave a comment